Alexandria Police to Conduct Alcohol Compliance Campaign
Police will visit businesses throughout the city to ensure they are complying with rules that make it illegal to sell alcohol to minors.
Alexandria police will be visiting businesses throughout the city this week to educate their employees about selling alcohol and their responsibiity to refrain from selling to minors.
Chief of Police Earl Cook reminds business owners and employees that for a first time offense of selling alcohol to an underage customer, a licensee can be penalized up to $2,000 and/or have their ABC license revoked for violating Virginia’s minimum-age alcohol laws.
The maximum penalty in Virginia for an employee who sells alcohol to minors is 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine.