.

Letter to the Editor: Mayor Euille Has the Skills to Make Alexandria One City

Alexandrian Hazel Rigby says Mayor Euille has her respect, her support and her vote.

Dear Editor:

In his opening remarks in the second mayoral debate Andrew Macdonald stated that life in Alexandria had worsened under Mayor Euille's leadership, but it would only be fair to examine his own record.

Mr. Macdonald has a history of indecisive, political allegiance and perseverance.  In the 2000 election he ran for Council as an independent and lost. In 2003 he joined the Democratic Committee, ran as a Democrat and won. He served his full term. In 2006, he again ran as a Democrat but in an attempt to become Vice Mayor allowed the Republicans to include his name in Republican ads.  He prevailed--winning the most votes to become Vice Mayor. In early May 2007, he abruptly resigned his seat for "personal reasons" having served slightly less than one-third of his three-year term.

Macdonald resigned from the Democratic Committee to run as an independent for Mayor.  He went before the Republican Committee to ask for their support.  His consistent mantra at debates, speeches, etc. is two trick pony--lack of planning and no control of development. He complains about people not listening to his message, portraying himself as the expert on several issues, even to the point of telling us that we should accept his assessment of the City's financial condition rather than Moody's triple bond rating of the City.

Mayor Euille has made more attempts to make us ONE city than any Mayor I can remember in my 38 years living and teaching in the City. When Mr. Macdonald decided to include education matters in his lack of planning mantra, accusing the Mayor of not planning ahead in the need for more school buildings he entered a debate he should fear to tread.  In my 30-year teaching career in the City Schools I was never aware of Mr. Macdonald's concern for public education. He lived not far from me in old town and went to private schools.  Through the years I've attended many, many hearings in support of public education and fair salaries for teachers. I don't remember his presence at any of these hearings except for his short time on Council.

Before serving as the Mayor, Bill Euille served for 10 years on the School Board.  He attended segregated elementary schools and later the new desegregated T.C. Williams High School where he excelled in academics, played in the band and made many close friends in the desegregated, combined student population. He has walked the walk not just talked the talk. His experience on the School Board makes him very qualified to know who's responsible for operating the school system. He has always supported public schools, teachers and necessary funding. The Mayor has used his knowledge, his personal wealth and his long service to the community to help many young people get an education.

I stand with Mayor Euille. He has my respect, my support and my vote.

Hazel Rigby

Alexandrienne October 25, 2012 at 01:20 PM
"He attended segregated elementary schools and later the new desegregated T.C. Williams High School " YES ALL ALEXANDRIA PUBLIC SCHOOLS WERE SEGREGATED IN THE 50S-SO DIDN'T ALL CHILDREN AT THAT TIME ATTEND SEGREGATED SCHOOLS-DO WE HAVE TO PULL THE RACE CARD IN THE ELECTION OF MAYOR? WHAT IS IMPORTANT IS THE PRESENT..DENSITY..BRAC..THE CONTINUED DECLINE OF OUR PUBLIC SCHOOLS WHILE CATERING TO DEVELOPERS..ALL THE BEHIND DOORS AHRA DEALS...
Matt Harris October 25, 2012 at 02:20 PM
Hazel - very nice endorsement of the Mayor, and I couldn't have said it better myself (unless of course I wrote this in all CAPS!).
NoBS October 25, 2012 at 03:03 PM
Bill Euille has my support and my family's as well. Great letter, Hazel. You speak the truth of the matter. Andrew is a friendly guy but he's a dilletante. He touches the surface of everything but has no depth of experience or ideas on anything.
oldtowner October 25, 2012 at 10:12 PM
One can assume Alexandrienne is passionate about this, due to the comments ALL IN CAPS! I also think Andrew Macdonald is not a good choice for Mayor. He was quoted in one local paper as saying: " “We don’t need to let Moody’s dictate what kind of development we will have.” The City does not let Moody's dictate our development, but Moody's bond rating is sure important to our City. Something tells me Mr. Macdonald really has no understanding of City financial issues. All he ever talks about is parks, open space, and anti-development; we all like parks and open space...just as Gov. Romney loves women and teachers. (ha) I also agree it looks pretty shady that Mr. Macdonald has switched parties several times....doesn't look good. That and his abrupt resignation from office shows a lack of commitment.
donotpaveparadise October 26, 2012 at 12:58 AM
We need a mayor that is passionate and responsive to the concerns of the community. We need a mayor that listens, and will think through problems and make sure that staff provides real alternatives. Mayor Euille has served for 18 years, the last 9 as mayor. He has done little more then promote more development wanted by developers and had turned a deaf ear to the voices of citizens interested in real dialogue. There has been scant little collaboration under his reign (unless you mean with the business interests he has aligned himself with) and he last thing we should do is to reelect him for a fourth term. We need fresh ideas, real passion and real dialogue. I will be voting for Mr. Macdonald and I hope you do too.
Patrick Smith October 26, 2012 at 02:05 PM
I wasn't convinced at first but since it was in all caps I realized it must really be true.
oldtowner October 26, 2012 at 07:34 PM
To donotpave: As usual, folks "interested in real dialogue" just don't like it if you don't agree with them. That has become the way things go in the City....there are lots of meetings, lots of dialogue, lots of collaboration....and then the vote comes up. If citizens don't like the result, they claim they "weren't listened to." That gets old.....Vote Euille.
Cathryn S October 26, 2012 at 08:04 PM
Excellent endorsement. Bill Euille has done a good job as Mayor of Alexandria and has an excellent track record of public service in the city. I will be voting for Bill based on his record. I'd be curious to hear from Andrew what he sees as his greatest accomplishment while he was on Council. I don't recall that he did much before he abruptly resigned, but my memory may be faulty
OT insider October 29, 2012 at 01:40 AM
> Mr. Macdonald has a history of indecisive, political allegiance and perseverance. This totally sums it up. I do not see this guy as a leader for our city. Actually, the though of it scares me. In spite of the rhetoric, I believe that a lot of people in Old Town will be supporting Mayor Euille.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »