Alexandria police will conduct roaming DWI enforcement Halloween night to deter and apprehend intoxicated drivers.
The initiative will begin at 10 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 31 and will continue through 6 a.m. Friday, Nov. 1.
Motorists will be stopped and drivers will be checked to assure their ability to drive has not been impaired.
The maximum penalty in Virginia for the first conviction for driving under the influence is 12 months in jail, a $2,500 fine and a 12-month suspension of driving privileges. There are mandatory jail terms associated with these offenses depending upon the blood alcohol content of the driver.
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles administrative fees may also apply.