New Alexandria City Council Installed

A full Democratic slate is headed to City Hall after the general election in November.

Alexandria has a new set of leaders to carry them through 2015.

Mayor Bill Euille was re-elected, as were council members Del Pepper and Paul Smedberg. Four new council members joined them: Justin Wilson (who served on council from 2007 to 2009), Tim Lovain (who served on council from 2006 to 2009), John Taylor Chapman and Allison Silberberg.

Leaving the council were Vice Mayor Kerry Donley, Frank Fannon, Alicia Hughes and David Speck. Speck served in a temporary capacity, filling in for former Councilman in a special election.

The new council members each gave remarks about their new appointments with the outgoing members offering them brief advice.

A reception was held at T.C. Williams High School after the ceremony.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »